What you need to know about the G-20

On Wednesday, President Donald Trump set off on the second foreign trip of his presidency, during which he will be attending the G-20 summit in Germany. Trump’s attendance at the conference is an opportunity for the new president to work alongside the world’s greatest economic and political powers.

In a White House statement regarding the trip, press secretary Sean Spicer said: “The visit will reaffirm America’s steadfast commitment to one of our closest European allies and emphasize the administration’s priority of strengthening NATO’s collective defense.”

This year, the G-20 will be held on July 7 and 8 in Hamburg, Germany. Trump’s attendance at the summit will come following a meeting with Polish President Andrzej Duda, a key NATO ally. Trump also plans on meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin on Friday during the summit.

Here’s what you need to know about the annual meeting.

What is the G-20?

According to the G-20’s official website, the group is a collection of 19 countries and the European Union who meet annually to discuss international financial and economic issues. Each year, the countries rotate who chairs the meeting. This year the presidency of the G-20 is Germany.

Since the inaugural meeting of the G-20 in 2008, member heads of state have been meeting in a confidential setting to propose an international agenda that serves sustainable economic growth and protects the stability of international financial systems. While the focus of the meeting is largely economic, issues such as climate change, labor regulations and counterterrorism are also highlighted. New topics to the G-20 meeting this year include sustainable economic development with a turn toward refugee migration, Africa, global health and women’s economic empowerment.

Given the global influence of G-20 member nations, resolutions crafted by the G-20 often put pressure on the United Nations to implement binding agreements, with the latest example being the Paris Climate Agreement.

While the meeting of heads of state is the focus of the G-20, government secretaries and ministers responsible for G-20 subtopics will meet to discuss their specific interests as well.

Who is a part of the G-20?

The 19 nations included in the summit are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. Collectively, these…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *