People who want to move to Texas and want to be able to drive a car there, have to know that there are certain traffic laws and regulations there that are different from those in other states, and that there are different procedures regarding car registration, titling, driver’s licenses and other affairs related to the DMV. Another thing you must remember is that people in Texas love to drive fast, which is why you have to be extra careful when you start driving there.
The first thing that you should do after you move to Texas, is that you must register your vehicle there. You can use the license that you have obtained in another state for up to 90 days after moving to Texas. If you want to be able to drive your vehicle that has been registered in another state, you have to register it within 30 days of establishing Texas residency. To do that, you have to visit your local County Tax Office, and provide them with the required documentation. But, before you go there, you have to make sure you have some sort of documentation that proves you have valid auto insurance, and have your vehicle inspected by a state-approved inspection station. Then, you can go to a County Tax Office and submit the proof of auto insurance, a proof that your vehicle has passed a safety inspection, along with a proof of ownership, such as a title from your previous state of residence. You will also have do a title transfer of your vehicle, which you can do by completing the Application for Texas Certificate of Title.
When it comes to applying for a driver’s license in Texas, you have to provide the DMV with your out-of-state license, proof of identity and proof of your Social Security Number, as well as two proofs of Texas residency. You will also have to pass a vision test.
As far as traffic laws are concerned, you have to pay special attention to DUI laws and distracted driving laws. If you get convicted of driving under the influence, you can get sentenced to up to 180 days in prison,…