James Franco a no-show at Critics’ Choice Awards, ‘The Shape of Water’ wins top honors

The 23rd Annual Critics’ Choice Awards aired live from California Thursday night, with “The Shape of Water” taking home best picture honors.

Most notably, James Franco — best comedy actor winner for “The Disaster Artist” — skipped the event amid allegations of sexual misconduct from five women earlier in the day.

A request for comment from Franco’s attorney, Michael Plonsker, was not immediately returned to ABC News. But Plonsker referred the Los Angeles Times to comments the actor made on Jan. 9 on “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” where he said, “I pride myself on taking responsibility for things I’ve done.” Franco then reiterated his position that the accounts were false.

Christopher Polk/Getty Images
Producer J. Miles Dale accepts Best Picture for “The Shape of Water” onstage during The 23rd Annual Critics’ Choice Awards at Barker Hangar, Jan. 11, 2018 in Santa Monica, Calif.

Unlike Sunday’s Golden Globes, the show mostly steered clear of politics and the sexual harassment scandals that have rocked Hollywood.

However, host Olivia Munn — joined by TV personality Niecy Nash — did take a break from the awards to deliver a tongue-in-cheek “Toast to All the Good Guys in Hollywood,” which included Nash thanking “all of the men for speaking up at the Golden Globes.”

“Actually, they didn’t say much there,” Munn interrupted.

“Oh, my bad,” replied Nash.

Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images
Olivia Munn attends The 23rd Annual Critics’ Choice Awards at Barker Hangar, Jan. 11, 2018 in Santa Monica, Calif.

A couple of winners also used their acceptance speeches to address the scandals.

Rachel Brosnahan, best actress winner in a comedy series for “The Marvelous Mrs. Meisel” — which also copped best comedy series honors — said, “Let’s not lose focus…please go to TimesUp.com, donate to the Legal Defense Fund. Let’s keep this going.”

“Wonder Woman” star Gal Gadot, honored with the #SeeHer Award, which recognizes women who push boundaries on changing stereotypes and the importance of accurately portraying women, said she shared the award with “all the women and men who stand up for what’s right, standing for those who can’t stand or speak for themselves.”

Added Gadot, “My promise and commitment to all of you is that I will never be silent, and we will continue [to] band together, to make strides uniting for equality.”

Frazer Harrison/Getty Images
Vanessa Taylor, Richard Jenkins, Sally Hawkins, J. Miles Dale, Guillermo del Toro, Octavia Spencer and…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *