Horatio Alger Association, in Partnership with Honeywell, Awards 10 Outstanding Students College Scholarships to Pursue STEM Careers

Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., a nonprofit educational organization honoring the achievements of outstanding individuals and encouraging youth to pursue their dreams through higher education, today announced that 10 students working towards a degree in science, technology, engineering or math (STEM) will receive award scholarships of $10,000. The scholarships, sponsored by Honeywell, are being awarded to high school seniors who have overcome adversity and are committed to continuing their education and serving their communities.

Since the establishment of its scholarship program in 1984, Horatio Alger Association has awarded more than $125 million in undergraduate, graduate and specialized scholarships to students from across the United States (including all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico) and Canada. Horatio Alger Association Members – business, civic and philanthropic leaders who have demonstrated determination and a strong work ethic in their pursuit of personal and professional success – fully fund the organization’s scholarship programs. Dave Cote, Executive Chairman of Honeywell, was inducted into the Association as a lifetime Member in 2014 and established the Honeywell Scholarship that same year.

Honeywell wholly funds the scholarship program through Honeywell Hometown Solutions, its corporate citizenship initiative. In partnership with Horatio Alger Association, the Honeywell Scholarship program is available to college freshmen enrolled at Honeywell Partner schools or Horatio Alger Collegiate Partner schools. To qualify for the Honeywell Scholarship, applicants must have a minimum GPA of 3.0, exhibit strong character and academic promise and display perseverance in overcoming significant personal adversity. The 2017 Horatio Alger Honeywell Scholars…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *