Eppendorf Offers Solutions to Prevent Cell Misidentification

Nadine Mellies, PhD Application Specialist, Eppendorf AG

The first human cell line HeLa, established in 1951, has entered cell culture labs worldwide. It took 20 years until the first data on cross-contamination of human cell lines with HeLa cells were published. Until recently, cross-contamination and misidentification of various cell lines has been an increasing issue in cell culture labs and is associated with dramatic consequences for research.

In this educational webinar, which is sponsored by the team at Eppendorf, participants will receive an overview of cell misidentification and what it is. They will learn from discussions on the causes and consequences of cell misidentification. Different methods to check cell identity will also be discussed, as well as best practices in choosing a cell authentication method. Ultimately, attendees will be better able to identify and prevent cell misidentification by incorporating good cell culture practices into daily lab routines.

Eppendorf has arranged to have Dr. Nadine Mellies, an application specialist at Eppendorf AG, to present during this webinar.

Mellies studied biology at the University of Oldenburg, Germany, investigating visual signal processing in the carp retina before earning a doctorate in Biology with a focus on male reproductive biology working with mouse and human stem cells at the Institute of Human Genetics Goettingen, Germany. She currently serves as an application specialist focusing on cell handling at Eppendorf Headquarter.

LabRoots will host this event on June 29, 2017, beginning at 7:00 a.m. PDT, 10:00 a.m. EDT, 4:00 p.m. CEST. To learn more about this webinar, the continuing education credits offered, or to register for free, click here.

About Eppendorf…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *