Do you know which 16 Utah pro sports teams have won championships?

Over the weekend, the Ogden Raptors accomplished something most professional teams that currently or previously called Utah home have failed to do.

Yep, win it all.

Though on a different stage and in a different sport, the Ogden organization’s Pioneer League championship is one more title than the St. George Roadrunners, the Saints (Salt Lake City and Utah versions), the majority of the double-z teams — sorry, Starzz, Buzz, Catzz, Freezz and, oh yeah, Jazz — and the majority of other teams that’ve come and gone have combined to win in the history of their respective franchises.

Utah hasn’t been completely devoid of championships, though.

While Utah hasn’t won a title on its biggest sports stage — darn that Michael Jordan — the Beehive State’s pro teams have hoisted quite a few trophies over the decades.

With apologies to fans of football, volleyball and rugby — the state is still waiting for a pro championship in those sports — here’s a look at titles this state’s professional squads have won over the years:


Pacific Coast League: Unfortunately, Salt Lake City has had as many baseball stadiums as championships — and even more team nicknames.

Over the years, Community Park, Derks Field and the oft-renamed Smith’s Ballpark — all built on the same plot of land on 1300 South — have been home to the Angels, Gulls, Buzz, Stingers and Bees in Class AAA and the Trappers, Giants, Skyscrapers and the original Bees of the Pioneer League.

Only three of those ballclubs that have played on baseball’s second-highest level have won all the marbles in their league, though. The Salt Lake City Bees (1959), the Angels (1971) and the Gulls (1979) each claimed PCL pennants.

Pioneer League: The Raptors finally won their first championship after relocating from Pocatello, Idaho, 24 years ago, but they joined a big club of Utah teams to have won all the rookie league marbles.

Three different teams from Ogden have won Pioneer League crowns: the Reds (1940, ‘41), the Dodgers (1966-69) and now the Raptors (2017). Salt Lake City has had its share of championships at this level: the Bees (1946, ‘53) and the Trappers (1985-87, ‘91).

That 1987 Trappers team was best known for two things that had nothing to do with championships:

1. They…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *