Bracket revealed for 2017 Wooden Legacy tourney; Cal State Fullerton opens against Georgia – Orange County Register

FULLERTON — The matchups have been announced for the 2017 Wooden Legacy men’s basketball tournament, and Cal State Fullerton will open the eight-team Thanksgiving Weekend tournament against visiting Georgia.

The event, which will be played Nov. 23-26 at Cal State Fullerton’s Titan Gym, includes teams from across the country. Beyond Georgia (SEC), the field includes Saint Mary’s (West Coast Conference), San Diego State (Mountain West), Washington State (Pac-12), Harvard (Ivy League), Saint Joseph’s (Atlantic 10) and Sacramento State (Big Sky).

Saint Mary’s (NCAA), Georgia (NIT) and Cal State Fullerton ( competed in postseason tournaments last March. The Gaels defeated VCU in the first round of the NCAA Tournament before losing to a second-seeded Arizona. Georgia and Cal State Fullerton dropped their first-round postseason games to Belmont and Weber State, respectively.

Like Fullerton, Saint Mary’s will be making its third appearance in the event while Washington State and San Diego State return for the second time. When the Wooden Legacy moved from the Anaheim Convention Center to Titan Gym in 2013, San Diego State won the title by defeating Marquette in the final.

Other Wooden Legacy champions have included USC (2007), Wake Forest (2008), West Virginia (2009), UNLV (2010), St. Louis (2011), Cal (2012), Washington (2014), Michigan State (2015) and UCLA (2016).

All 12 games will be televised on ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPNEWS or ESPN3. All times listed are Pacific (unless otherwise noted). All-session tickets will go on sale Sept. 13. Additional information can be found at

Thursday, Nov. 23

Game 1 – Saint Mary’s vs. Harvard, 1 p.m., ESPNEWS

Game 2 – Saint Joseph’s vs. Washington State, 3:30 p.m., ESPN3

Game 3 – Georgia vs. Cal State Fullerton, 7:30 p.m., ESPNEWS

Game 4 – San Diego State vs. Sacramento State, 10 p.m., ESPNU

Friday, Nov. 24

Game 5 – Saint Mary’s/Harvard winner vs. Saint Joseph’s/Washington State winner, 10:30 a.m., ESPNEWS

Game 6 – Saint Mary’s/Harvard loser vs. Saint Joseph’s/Washington State loser, 1 p.m., ESPN3

Game 7 – Georgia/CSF winner vs. SDSU/Sacramento State winner, 4 p.m., ESPN2

Game 8 – Georgia/CSF loser vs. SDSU/Sacramento State loser, 6:30 p.m., ESPNEWS

Sunday, Nov. 26

Game 9 – Seventh place: Game 6 and Game 8 losers, 11:30 a.m., ESPN3

Game 10 – Third place: Game 5 and Game 7 losers, 2 p.m., ESPNU

Game 11 – Fifth place: Game 6 and Game 8…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *