2017 Municipal Election: Central and Western region results – Newfoundland & Labrador


Percy Farwell has won the race to replace long-time Gander Mayor Claude Elliott.

Farwell won the Gander mayor’s chair by more than 400 votes, beating out councillor Cyril Abbott and newcomer Frank Ireland, according to unofficial results from the town.

It was the first election in more than twenty years not to feature Claude Elliott’s name on the ballott.

Farwell served three terms on Gander’s town council, before taking a break from politics in 2005. He will be joined by elected councillors:

  • Tara Pollett
  • Gina Brown
  • Rob Anstey
  • Oz Fudge
  • Pat Woodford
  • Brian Dove


Marystown Mayor Sam Synard says he feels “vindicated” by a victory in this year’s municipal election.

Synard was re-elected over council challenger Lisa Slaney in Tuesday’s ballot for the mayor’s chair in Marystown, according to unofficial results posted to the town’s Facebook page. When he returns to the office, he will be accompanied by an entirely new slate of councillors.

Marystown Mayor Sam Synard has been re-elected. (CBC )

Synard said it’s a good step to return to normalcy for a town council he once called “dysfunctional.”

“Four years in Marystown, the last four years, is well documented. And it’s been a rough four years, so I feel somewhat vindicated, I guess. To some degree,” he said.

“The people have spoken, they’ve elected a whole new group of people …I want to unite the community, and I want to move forward with good economic development and good municipal infrastructure.”

Councillors elected in Marystown are:

  • Michael Brennan
  • Gary Myles
  • Nora Tremblett
  • Andrew Edwards
  • Keith Keating
  • Loretta Lewis

Grand Falls-Windsor

In Grand Falls-Windsor, incumbent Mayor Barry Manuel won his re-election handily over challenger Peggy Bartlett.

Grand Falls-Windsor Mayor Barry Manuel won his re-election bid handily. (Chris Ensing/CBC)

Manuel led Bartlett by about 3,000 votes in the unofficial totals posted by the town of Grand Falls-Windsor on Tuesday night.

Joining Manuel on council will be:

  • Rod Bennett
  • Mike Browne
  • Amy Coady-Davis
  • Shawn Feener
  • Darren Finn
  • Mark Whiffen

Election results from across central Newfoundland are being announced…

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *